It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 6:27 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
 Multiple Versions of Ignition 
Author Message
Trooper
Trooper

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 12:40 pm
Posts: 20
Post Multiple Versions of Ignition
Our company has implemented a few installs of Ignition now and we plan to bring up a server with a copy of all the projects to aid in support and also future developement. The problem is our installs are different versions of Ignition, and I would guess I can't install multiple versions on one computer, can I?

I am afraid if I upgrade all the projects, that we will try to do stuff on the old projects that has changed and end up chasing a few rabbit tails. Our customers have no plans to upgrade, so I know we will continue to face this.

Thoughts?


Fri Jun 01, 2012 2:29 pm
Profile
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 2:46 pm
Posts: 1982
Location: Sacramento, CA
Post Re: Multiple Versions of Ignition
We recommend using virtual machines in this scenario. You can use VMWare if you have it or VirtualBox (which is free, and you can use Ubuntu).

Besides that, you can install multiple Ignitions on the same computer. You should only have one of them running at a time though. To install multiple Ignitions you cannot use the Ignition installer, you have to use the Windows zip files that you can download from our website. Follow these instructions:

1) Download the Ignition Windows zip for the versions you need. Make sure you get the right architecture: 32 or 64 bit. Let's say you are going to install 7.3 and 7.4.

2) Unzip the 7.3 Ignition to C:\Program Files\Inductive Automation\Ignition 7.3

3) Open the ignition.conf file located in the data directory in your text editor. Look for the line
Code:
wrapper.java.command=java
Replace "java" with the path to your Java installation. Typically it is "C:\Program FIles\Java\jre6\bin\java.exe".

4) In the same file look for the following lines (at the very bottom):
Code:
wrapper.name=Ignition
wrapper.displayname=Ignition Gateway
wrapper.description=Ignition Gateway
Change those to the following for 7.3:
Code:
wrapper.name=Ignition73
wrapper.displayname=Ignition Gateway 73
wrapper.description=Ignition Gateway 73
5) Close the file. Now back in the install directory run the install-ignition.bat file (in C:\Program Files\Inductive Automation\Ignition 7.3). That will create a Windows service called Ignition73.

6) Follow the same steps for 7.4 creating a new service Ignition74.

Again make sure only one of them is running at any given time since they are using the same TCP ports. Let us know if you have any problems.

_________________
Travis Cox
Inductive Automation
Technical Support Rep.


Fri Jun 01, 2012 3:12 pm
Profile WWW
Trooper
Trooper

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 12:40 pm
Posts: 20
Post Re: Multiple Versions of Ignition
Can you give me more specifics on how to turn one version off from running and another one on?

I think we will have 7.2, 7.3, and 7.4.

Thanks!


Wed Jun 06, 2012 9:50 am
Profile
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:02 am
Posts: 177
Post Re: Multiple Versions of Ignition
Again, it is _highly_ recommended that you use virtual machines for this scenario. However if you still want to run them all on the same machine, you'd just start and stop the services as necessary from the windows services utility (control panel -> administrative tools -> services).


Wed Jun 06, 2012 10:11 am
Profile
Trooper
Trooper

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 12:40 pm
Posts: 20
Post Re: Multiple Versions of Ignition
So, I am finally trying to implement this. I wish we had licenses of Windows to use for virtual machines, but I barely even have this Windows Server 2003 license on our server.

I have the 7.5.3 program in Program Files and did the install-ignition BAT, and the Ignition service installed, but when I run the launch-gcu.bat, the Gateway Control Utility showes both the web server and gateway are stopped.

Do I need to do another install to get everything installed and running? I thought about reverting to the usual EXE install, but didn't know if it would still use the same service with the special name.


Wed Sep 19, 2012 12:18 pm
Profile
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 4:10 pm
Posts: 2014
Location: Folsom, CA
Post Re: Multiple Versions of Ignition
Have you tried running the start-ignition.bat file now? Installing it only installs it.

_________________
Kevin Herron
Software Developer
Inductive Automation


Wed Sep 19, 2012 12:20 pm
Profile WWW
Trooper
Trooper

Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 12:40 pm
Posts: 20
Post Re: Multiple Versions of Ignition
Thanks - I had tried nearly every BAT, but must have missed that one. Now it shows both up.


Wed Sep 19, 2012 2:23 pm
Profile
General
General

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:30 pm
Posts: 891
Location: Calgary
Post Re: Multiple Versions of Ignition
jimjohnson wrote:
So, I am finally trying to implement this. I wish we had licenses of Windows to use for virtual machines, but I barely even have this Windows Server 2003 license on our server.


Are you aware that M$ allows you to run 4 virtual windows machines with a single license as long as that are all on the same box?


Thu Sep 20, 2012 7:17 am
Profile WWW
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 1:00 pm
Posts: 906
Location: Sacramento, CA
Post Re: Multiple Versions of Ignition
Here is some additional licensing information from Microsoft when using their OS with a virtual machine

http://www.microsoft.com/Licensing/abou ... ation.aspx

_________________
Greg Simpson
Inductive Automation
Technical Support Rep


Thu Sep 20, 2012 2:13 pm
Profile
Lieutenant
Lieutenant

Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 10:58 am
Posts: 60
Post Re: Multiple Versions of Ignition
Licensing (in your case) demystified:

Windows Server 2003 Standard - One License
Windows Server 2003 Enterprise - 1 host + 4 VMs, all using the same license. (Only allowed to use the host as a host for VMs, and can't run anything else on it... Or you can use 1 host + 3 VMs, and can use the host for whatever you want.)

So, if you have an Enterprise license, I'd definitely go with VMs for Ignition. If it's standard, you're probably stuck with the one install.


Fri Sep 21, 2012 9:57 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron