It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 5:57 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
 Row Selector - Selected Item 
Author Message
Trooper
Trooper

Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 9:30 am
Posts: 25
Location: UK
Post Row Selector - Selected Item
Is it possible to get a text string showing the path to (and including) the selected item in the Row Selector

I am generating a report from the row selector and would like to set the title to show the tree path used in the row selector.

_________________
Malcolm Bird
Swift Automation


Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:01 pm
Profile
Trooper
Trooper

Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 9:30 am
Posts: 25
Location: UK
Post Re: Row Selector - Selected Item
Hi,

Just some further details on thi ssee if its possible in the attached image of a tree structure with the selection show can i get a string with the following or similar value:

'NP Tests (81)\Unknown (81)\Bead (27)\UCR20/5-NP (6)'

Either with or without the number of results at each level.

This string would be used on top of a generic report to show what data was selected to generate it.

Regards

Malcolm Bird
Swift Automation
UK


Attachments:
Tree Control Image.png
Tree Control Image.png [ 7.76 KiB | Viewed 739 times ]

_________________
Malcolm Bird
Swift Automation
Tue Feb 21, 2012 3:02 am
Profile
General
General

Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 5:56 pm
Posts: 575
Post Re: Row Selector - Selected Item
If I remember right, you should just have to put the selected path into a dataset. then use that dataset in the report.


Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:04 am
Profile
Trooper
Trooper

Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 9:30 am
Posts: 25
Location: UK
Post Re: Row Selector - Selected Item
The Row Selector does not appear to have a property 'selectedPath' or similar

_________________
Malcolm Bird
Swift Automation


Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:10 am
Profile
General
General

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:30 pm
Posts: 887
Location: Calgary
Post Re: Row Selector - Selected Item
Hi Malcom,

There is a selectedRow property. That tells you the row in the dataset. There is an item path column in the dataset. That is your path you are looking for.


Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:56 am
Profile WWW
Trooper
Trooper

Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 9:30 am
Posts: 25
Location: UK
Post Re: Row Selector - Selected Item
Tried using selectedRow as a property but is not reconised for the Row Selector component

Any pointer to where i should look

_________________
Malcolm Bird
Swift Automation


Wed Feb 22, 2012 6:09 am
Profile
General
General

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:30 pm
Posts: 887
Location: Calgary
Post Re: Row Selector - Selected Item
Here is a sample project that has a tree control and two labels. When you select an item in the tree, one label shows the complete path, the other one shows the selected item index/row number in dataset.


Attachments:
test (2012-02-22).proj [11.56 KiB]
Downloaded 25 times
Wed Feb 22, 2012 8:21 am
Profile WWW
Trooper
Trooper

Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 9:30 am
Posts: 25
Location: UK
Post Re: Row Selector - Selected Item
Robert,

Thank you for the project, I have confuse you with the image I posted its not a Tree Control Im using it is the Row Selector from the reporting components tab, Although, this displays as a Tree it has a reduced number of properties available compared to the tree.

Appologies for my naming of the image...

_________________
Malcolm Bird
Swift Automation


Wed Feb 22, 2012 8:29 am
Profile
General
General

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:30 pm
Posts: 887
Location: Calgary
Post Re: Row Selector - Selected Item
I was wondering if that was the case when I created that project and noticed the selectedPath was a basic property. :lol:

No harm done. Sorry I can't help you with the reporting module. Never used it.


Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:33 pm
Profile WWW
Trooper
Trooper

Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 9:30 am
Posts: 25
Location: UK
Post Re: Row Selector - Selected Item
Hi,

Just a nudge on this topic if anyone has an answer or should I put this in as a feature request !

_________________
Malcolm Bird
Swift Automation


Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:39 am
Profile
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 2:46 pm
Posts: 1982
Location: Sacramento, CA
Post Re: Row Selector - Selected Item
I think you need to post a feature request because the hierarchy is dynamic.

_________________
Travis Cox
Inductive Automation
Technical Support Rep.


Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:02 am
Profile WWW
Trooper
Trooper

Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 9:30 am
Posts: 25
Location: UK
Post Re: Row Selector - Selected Item
Will Do, Thanks Travis

_________________
Malcolm Bird
Swift Automation


Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:35 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: