It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 12:08 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 Radar Chart Axis Labels 
Author Message
General
General

Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 4:40 pm
Posts: 477
Location: Hatfield, PA
Post Radar Chart Axis Labels
Hey guys,

The radar charts are awesome but it would be nice to have the option to label the axis with the column names. When you get a lot of axis it can get confusing as to which is which. In the following example I manually labeled the axis with label components.

Attachment:
RadarChartLabeled.png
RadarChartLabeled.png [ 29.5 KiB | Viewed 1181 times ]

_________________
There are 10 types of people in this world, those who understand binary and those who don't.

Doug Keller
Electronics Project Manager
Clemens Food Group


Fri Jun 29, 2012 10:27 am
Profile WWW
General
General

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 5:05 am
Posts: 218
Post Re: Radar Chart Axis Labels
If you mouseover an axis, the mouseover text will display the column name, range of the column, and/or the actual valve of the point depending on where you mouseover at. One of the ideas behind the radar chart and the moving analog indicator is to allow the operator to determine if the process is running correctly with just a glance.

It would be nice to have a mouseclick event that would indicate which axis was clicked on.


Tue Jul 03, 2012 7:01 am
Profile
General
General

Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 4:40 pm
Posts: 477
Location: Hatfield, PA
Post Re: Radar Chart Axis Labels
Quote:
One of the ideas behind the radar chart and the moving analog indicator is to allow the operator to determine if the process is running correctly with just a glance.


Yeah, I do realize that but I think it's nice to be able to display the axis so you can see really fast what it is, at least as an option.

The mouse over is nice when you're at a desktop but the mouse over stuff doesn't work so hot if you're at a touch screen panel on the operations floor. Most of the time I can't get mouse over stuff to work at all on touch screens so that's really my only complaint with it.

_________________
There are 10 types of people in this world, those who understand binary and those who don't.

Doug Keller
Electronics Project Manager
Clemens Food Group


Tue Jul 03, 2012 7:06 am
Profile WWW
General
General

Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 4:40 pm
Posts: 477
Location: Hatfield, PA
Post Re: Radar Chart Axis Labels
Another issue I just ran into: Scaling

There should be another column in the radar chart data set for a max spoke value i.e. each spoke should have it's own max value

I had a bunch of information I wanted to put on a radar chart and 4 out of 5 pieces of information were 25.0 or below and the fifth was normally around 1,000. The radar chart just looked like a spike on one side. You could not tell what the other values were doing at all. If there was individual scaling for each value that would take care of this issue.

_________________
There are 10 types of people in this world, those who understand binary and those who don't.

Doug Keller
Electronics Project Manager
Clemens Food Group


Tue Jul 03, 2012 11:52 am
Profile WWW
General
General

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 5:05 am
Posts: 218
Post Re: Radar Chart Axis Labels
Duffanator wrote:
I had a bunch of information I wanted to put on a radar chart and 4 out of 5 pieces of information were 25.0 or below and the fifth was normally around 1,000. The radar chart just looked like a spike on one side. You could not tell what the other values were doing at all. If there was individual scaling for each value that would take care of this issue.

I came across this issue as well. I'm pretty sure what when Carl was doing the demo for the Radar Chart that he was displaying values on the chart with different scales, since there's only one scale for all the axises I'm thinking he might have been scaling the values coming into the Radar Chart to work with his axis scale. I hadn't gotten around to asking him how he was doing it yet.

Hey Carl, how were you scaling the values you were pulling into your Radar Chart during the demo? ;)


Thu Jul 05, 2012 9:16 am
Profile
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 4:10 pm
Posts: 1980
Location: Folsom, CA
Post Re: Radar Chart Axis Labels
Pat wrote:
Duffanator wrote:
I had a bunch of information I wanted to put on a radar chart and 4 out of 5 pieces of information were 25.0 or below and the fifth was normally around 1,000. The radar chart just looked like a spike on one side. You could not tell what the other values were doing at all. If there was individual scaling for each value that would take care of this issue.

I came across this issue as well. I'm pretty sure what when Carl was doing the demo for the Radar Chart that he was displaying values on the chart with different scales, since there's only one scale for all the axises I'm thinking he might have been scaling the values coming into the Radar Chart to work with his axis scale. I hadn't gotten around to asking him how he was doing it yet.

Hey Carl, how were you scaling the values you were pulling into your Radar Chart during the demo? ;)


A memory tag with an expression that scaled it, I think. It was an easy workaround.

_________________
Kevin Herron
Software Developer
Inductive Automation


Thu Jul 05, 2012 9:45 am
Profile WWW
General
General

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:28 am
Posts: 261
Post Re: Radar Chart Axis Labels
HI,

Want to re up this thread because labels are really missing...
We have a dozen of radar charts which are dynamically populated, so it is not possible to create statics labels.
Any plan to an update of this component ?

Regards,


Wed Feb 20, 2013 11:26 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: