It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 12:35 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 Level Indicator overlays 
Author Message
Corporal
Corporal

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 8:18 am
Posts: 43
Post Level Indicator overlays
One of the things I noticed while upgrading from FactoryPMI to Ignition is the change in behavior of the Level Indicators. Namely, if the value is < 0 or > capacity, it displays the "limit exceeded" overlay.

I find it's pretty common to have level transducers that are not perfectly calibrated, so often a tank or whatever will be empty and the level reading is something like -2%. That, to me, seems to be a much less severe case than a communications error.

I think it would be nice to have a check box or whatever that made that particular overlay optional. I realize this can be fixed by just coercing the value with an expression, but that's a bit of a nuisance.


Fri Jul 06, 2012 11:22 am
Profile
General
General

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:30 pm
Posts: 888
Location: Calgary
Post Re: Level Indicator overlays
Two options:
1. every binding has an overlay opt out checkbox. usually near the bottom right of the popup. Check this and no overlay will bother your operators again.

2. When you apply scaling to a tag, you can set the clamp mode to prevent it from exceeding the full value limits.


Fri Jul 06, 2012 11:38 am
Profile WWW
General
General

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:58 pm
Posts: 152
Post Re: Level Indicator overlays
hmm. I tried this on a tank component.

Unfortunately even after checking the "overlay opt out" check box on the 'Value' binding. It is still showing up with the overlay in the designer.

Thoughts?

I'd prefer not to use the clamp as I'd prefer for operators to still be able to see sensors not operating correctly i.e. failed high. Clamping the value to within range will prevent them from


Tue Jul 10, 2012 1:57 pm
Profile
General
General

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:14 am
Posts: 853
Location: Hudson, MI
Post Re: Level Indicator overlays
I posted a tank display here That may give you some ideas.

_________________
Jordan

Duct tape is like The Force. It has a light side, a dark side, and it holds the universe together.


Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:58 am
Profile
General
General

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:58 pm
Posts: 152
Post Re: Level Indicator overlays
So what is the point of the "overlay opt out" check box?

edit. Found the answer in the manual. Has nothing to do with whether out of range or not

Overlay Opt-Out
Choosing this option will ignore the quality of the chosen tag, making it have no effect on the component's quality overlay.


Wed Jul 11, 2012 5:21 pm
Profile
Corporal
Corporal

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 8:18 am
Posts: 43
Post Re: Level Indicator overlays
Yeah, the Overlay Opt-out doesn't seem to apply to this particular overlay. What I did wind up doing to get around this was to bind the level value to an expression that coerced the tag in question to be > 0 and < capacity, removed the level's numeric display, and added a numeric indicator bound to the uncoerced tag value.


Mon Jul 16, 2012 11:34 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: