First time Ignition Linux flavors &cetera

Hi Folks, I am ready to build my first Ignition test box and considering what flavor of Linux to use. I am trying to provide for both ease of administration and long term stability. Everything I am going to be replacing is all still running WonderWare on Windows 2000 boxes. The goal is to produce a mostly open source proof of concept for a good customer for an Ignition system to run for the next ten years or so. After the initial proof works out, I intend to build a rack server for it with redundant power supplies and a mirrored pair of hard drives for long term reliability. MySQL I am thinking for the database, as I have some small experience with it. I think perhaps virtualization would probably be overkill for this kind of thing, so I probably will just back it all up with Clonezilla, Acronis or similar.

I am thinking of using
A. Ubuntu 12.04 LTS server edition with either KDE or XFCE GUI pasted on to it.

or B. CentOS 6.3 with some as yet unknown GUI layer or administration tool set.

I am somewhat familiar with desktop versions of Ubuntu 10.04 and 11.04. Once I have the Linux installed, I know that I should be able to build a LAMP stack with a single install to Ubuntu. The CentOS path to a working LAMP stack seems to be one package at a time. I am willing to do the extra work installing individual packages for the sake of long term stability. That all looks fairly easy to do, apt get or yum install .deb or .rpm, whatever magic server incantations to perform pasted from Google searches after sanity checks.

Comments suggestions and ideas are all most welcome. ubuntu-12.04.2-server-amd64.iso and CentOS-6.3-x86_64-LiveCD.iso are currently downloading as we speak.

The best policy is to keep things as standard as possible. Keep a list of all the steps to recreate the system from scratch. The shorter this list is the better. This is all the more important if you’re leaving someone else to maintain the system.