First-time Ignition Connection to MySQL - Error

Hello All,
I have a brand-spankin’ new install of Ignition on a new install of Ubuntu Linux, and I’m trying to connect to mySQL.
I’m a newbie at ALL of this (except maybe Linux). I can’t get the connection to work. Here are the specifics:

Linux: Ubuntu 12.04.2 LTS (64-bit version) on a DELL PowerEdge SC1420, 4Gb RAM, ~150Gb disc
MySQL: 5.5.31-0ubuntu0.12.04.2 plus MySQLWorkbench
Ignition: 7.5.8 (build 1410 | 64-bit)

I confirmed mySQL was running OK, started Ignition, then setup a DB connection inside Ignition, and it immediately faulted.
Here is the error message I received:

org.apache.commons.dbcp.SQLNestedException: Cannot create PoolableConnectionFactory (Communications link failure The last packet sent successfully to the server was 0 milliseconds ago. The driver has not received any packets from the server.)
org.apache.commons.dbcp.BasicDataSource.createDataSource(BasicDataSource.java:1225)
org.apache.commons.dbcp.BasicDataSource.getConnection(BasicDataSource.java:880)
com.inductiveautomation.ignition.gateway.datasource.DatasourceImpl.getConnectionInternal(DatasourceImpl.java:194)
com.inductiveautomation.ignition.gateway.datasource.DatasourceImpl.runTest(DatasourceImpl.java:150)
com.inductiveautomation.ignition.gateway.datasource.DatasourceManagerImpl$FaultedDatasourceRetryer.run(DatasourceManagerImpl.java:1103)
java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:724)
com.mysql.jdbc.exceptions.jdbc4.CommunicationsException: Communications link failure The last packet sent successfully to the server was 0 milliseconds ago. The driver has not received any packets from the server.
sun.reflect.GeneratedConstructorAccessor52.newInstance(Unknown Source)
sun.reflect.DelegatingConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance(DelegatingConstructorAccessorImpl.java:45)
java.lang.reflect.Constructor.newInstance(Constructor.java:526)com.mysql.jdbc.Util.handleNewInstance(Util.java:411)